Categories
Uncategorized

Miu Miu Spring 2023

This post was originally suppose to go up earlier in the month and mainly for the last day of Paris fashion week but it ended up being mostly about Miu Miu. A lot of my post during fashion month didn’t bring me the thrill and excitement they use to. That may have to do with something lying deeper within me and not the hard work and craftsmanship that went into the collections, but nonetheless I’m making an effort to update that series like I intend to every year.

Miu Miu Spring 2023 consisted of 64 looks. Continuing with the theme of styling “normal” items in a not-so normal way this season we strayed away from the cropped sweaters and mini skirts. We moved to stone-washed leather and deconstructed blazers that showed the inner lining. Some traditional Prada elements were in the collection. For example there were nylon jackets and bra tops with a clip fastener. The deconstruction done on the blazers were also done on the cropped tank tops which I was a very big fan of. This season brought a lot of layering of pieces that you would normally not see grouped together. Not only was this done in Miu Miu but other collections as well. Another popular look on the runway this season was the jeweled/sequins pieces. Prada and Miu Miu having those looks in their collections before but within this collection they also brought the layering element to it. Very Y2K but not as flashy or in your face. Y2K has become so commercial and overly saturated in shows recently and I feel like Miu Miu is the only one to make it look not so glamorous. It makes me appreciate the aesthetic because being a person who remembers the fashion of Y2K, I don’t remember it ever being this cute. It was weird and cringey at times but personal to everyone’s own personal style and that is what I think Miu Miu did here.

Leave a comment